Processing Photos in Adobe’s Lightroom

February 20, 2007

Firefly

Firefly – Processed in Lightroom

Adobe has finally released Lightroom, their answer to Apple’s Aperture. Lightroom is designed to make digital photo processing and management easier for photographers. Some of the feature highlights include: automatic generation of sleek Flash portfolios, integration with Photoshop (for retouching) and easy management of RAW files. I gave Lightroom a quick run-through this morning. I found it to be very intuitive and quite powerful. Within a few minutes I had touched-up an old photo album, a task that would have taken me at least an hour in Photoshop.

I haven’t used Aperture because I don’t really like to pay-to-play, especially when there’s no compelling case for why I would need such software. As I understand it, most of what can be done in Aperture or Lightroom can be accomplished with Photoshop and a little elbow grease. It’s great if these programs can make my life easier, but I want to witness them doing so before paying for them. To this end, I think Adobe’s decision to offer a free 30-day trial of Lightroom is a smart one.  They have a good shot at winning over many Aperture users as well as those of us who like to play-before-we-pay.

– chris

2 Responses to “Processing Photos in Adobe’s Lightroom”

  1. Penseroso Says:

    Apple is offering a free 30-day trial of Aperture. Visit the Apple Store online.

  2. tropist Says:

    Good find.

    Here is the free trial that Penseroso is talking about, I’ll have to give it a whirl now.


Leave a Reply

