Blatant ‘Subliminal’ Advertising on the Food Network

January 23, 2007

I wish this video was fake but sadly I don’t think it is. It appears that the Food Network has been putting pretty blatant ‘subliminal’ ads into some of their shows. This one is from Sunday night’s Iron Chef. Take a look.


I think it’s sad that some advertisers feel they need to resort to these tactics. I enjoy watching clever ads. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen Guinness’ Evolution ad. I’ve put it below for your enjoyment. Time for me to grab a Guinness from Brendan’s fridge.

– chris

One Response to “Blatant ‘Subliminal’ Advertising on the Food Network”


  1. […] Derren Brown a hypnotist and master of suggestion set to prove the effectiveness of subliminal advertising. As his case study, he set out to persuade the persuaders themselves, advertising agents, to create an advertising campaign from scratch. The results are pretty remarkable. Watch this video and you’ll appreciate the power of advertising. Now I understand why McDonald’s would do this. […]


Leave a Reply

