Stock Footage Film Festival

January 18, 2007

As I’m sure many of you are anxiously awaiting our launch, I figure it’s only fair to try and help keep you happily occupied until Tropist is up. So in that spirit, I point you to a new film festival, StockStock. I just learned about StockStock yesterday after seeing it on DVGuru. It’s a festival consisting of films less than 2 minutes in length cut together using stock footage from the Prelinger Archives. It’s a great opportunity to put something together without having to shoot a thing. This type of thing is right up my alley, if I had more time I would definitely put together an entry. Instead I’ll have to vicariously live through those of you who decide to compete.

We were thinking about running a festival like StockStock after we launch and we’ll probably still put together a similar competition at some point.

Here are the competition details taken from their site:

Mon, Nov. 20, 2006: Footage available for download.
Sun, Feb. 11, 2007:
Film submission deadline.
Mon, Feb. 12, 2007: Entered films viewable online.
Mon, Feb. 19, 2007: 20 Semi-finalist films announced.
Sat, Mar. 3, 2007: Super Secret Stockstock event. Announcement of Finalists and Jury Prize winner.
I can’t wait to see the finalists.

-Chris

Leave a Reply

